BOT Election
Home » All News » Board of Trustees News » 2020 Te Huruhi Board of Trustee Parent Elections (Mid Term)

2020 Te Huruhi Board of Trustee Parent Elections (Mid Term)

posted in: Board of Trustees News

The Te Huruhi School Board of Trustees is currently made up of five elected parent reps, a staff rep, a parent representative for Nga Purapura Akoranga, a Maori Community rep, and the principal.

The current Board is:

  • Emma Bolser (Parent Rep; Board Chair)
  • Tim Fadgen (Parent Rep; Deputy Chair)
  • Mark Hindmarsh (Parent Rep)
  • Adam Hunt (Parent Rep)
  • Suzanne Miller (Parent Rep)
  • Merrie Hewetson (Nga Purapura Akoranga Parent Rep)
  • Harry Howe (Maori Community Rep)
  • Stacey Hema (Staff Rep)
  • Adam Cels (Principal)

The Board of Trustees provide culturally responsive strategic leadership and direction to our school. They are accountable for the performance of the school and the key focus of their role is the improvement of student
progress and achievement.

Prior to the last election our board moved to staggered elections. This means we now have parent elections every 18 months to elect two or three parent reps for a three year term. In December we will have our first mid-term election to elect 2 board members. These positions are currently held by Mark and Adam

If you have expertise in Finance, Property, Health and Safety, Education, Teaching and Learning, Te Ao Māori, Policy, Strategy and Communication or believe you can make a valuable contribution to the
School we encourage you to get involved. If you are interested in running or have questions, please feel free to contact Emma, Jill Waston (the returning officer) or Adam to discuss further.

Notification of Board of Trustee Elections

Te Huruhi Primary School

School profile number: 01177

Nominations are open for the election of 2 parent representatives to the board of trustees.

Your nomination (Appendix 1)

You can use this form to nominate yourself or someone else in your community. We have nomination forms available in Te Reo Māori and some other languages. Please contact the returning officer if these are required.

Nominating yourself or someone else

If you are on the voting roll and eligible to vote, you can nominate yourself. Please remember to sign both parts of the form.

If you are nominating someone else, complete the nomination form and make sure it includes all the required contact details and signatures.

You can post, hand deliver or email your nomination form/s to the returning officer (see details below). Nominations close at noon on Sunday 8 November 2020

Candidate statement

If you are a candidate, you are invited to submit an optional statement (up to 400 words) and photo. Make sure your statement is received by noon on Sunday 8 November 2020 so that it can be sent to voters with the voting papers.

The returning officer may remove or edit any part of the candidate’s statement if it exceeds 400 words or is offensive or defamatory.

Electoral roll

The electoral roll is held at the school office and can be viewed during normal school hours.


Anyone can stand for election for the board of trustees, except for some exclusions. For further information on eligibility visit and see (Appendix 2)

If you are not on the voting roll you must be nominated by a person who is.


A candidate may nominate a person to sit with the returning officer during the vote count to make sure it is done correctly. Please advise the returning officer in writing of your scrutineer’s name and contact details before election day. Candidates cannot be scrutineers.

Voting and results

If there are more nominations than vacancies for parent representatives, a voting election will be held. Eligible voters will be issued voting papers and candidate statements, on or before Friday 13 November 2020.

The poll closes at 4pm on 11 December 2020 The highest polling candidates will be elected to the board of trustees and results will be notified to the school community and other affected parties.

Post, hand deliver, or email completed nomination form/s to: Jill Watson, Returning Officer, Te Huruhi Primary School, 7 – 11 Donald Bruce Rd, Surfdale, Waiheke Island 1081 or [email protected]



Mid Term BOT Election Appendix 1

Mid Term BOT Election Appendix 2